What I Shed Today

lightening up a little at a time

– the repair project and ethical responsibility of the birdfeeder

on January 15, 2017

I have finally decided, after much vacillation: our bird feeder shall be shed. I haven’t used it in well over a decade maybe two since one of the panels that holds and distributes the feed broke. But all this time I’ve kept it, thinking, “I could get and cut a piece of clear plastic to fix it. Hang it in the dogwood off the deck. Get some seed and cracked corn and start watching birds. I loved that when I was a kid. I’m pretty sure that feeder was a present from my parents while we lived in Illinois, probably because they remembered that. And Mom hates to look on WIST and see me shedding something she’s given me.”

the feeder in the Camellia out front

the feeder in the Camellia out front

I could do all that. Another problem, though, is that to start feeding birds in a neighborhood is to covenant with them not to stop. They quickly learn to depend upon it. I don’t know why I don’t trust myself to hold up my end; eleven cat-panions, past and present, would purr that I do. But felines have ways to reinforce good behavior that avians lack.

Oh, darn it—I am the son of an engineer—tomorrow I will cut a piece of something to replace the broken panel before I leave it at the ReStore. Glass or plywood would work. I may even have some acrylic out in the garage, I don’t know. Then someone who wants the joy of sustaining feathered friends can take it home and start using it without adopting a repair project, perhaps without the resources I’ve got.

shedding style: repair then give away
destination: Habitat for Humanity ReStore

Comments welcome … do you ever furrow your brow sorting out can, should, would if, and want to?

(Ummm … sorry, Mom!)

3 responses to “– the repair project and ethical responsibility of the birdfeeder

  1. […] – the repair project and ethical responsibility of the birdfeeder Jan […]

  2. Mom says:

    Two corrections today. 1) I don’t care what you give away on WIST. That was a lighthouse night light lamp that I thought was probably a gift from some family member since I have one exactly like it! I encourage discretion.
    2) Birds don’t really starve if you stop filling feeders for them. That really is a “bird hugger’s myth” that applies only to a living area, say large city, with no natural food available. I stopped feeding them several years ago when I realized we, I, live in the middle of a huge area with both natural foods and water. Seeing goldfinches eating thistle seeds in a field is far more rewarding that watching them devour sunflower seeds – for me, that is. But a young friend has given me for Christmas a squirrel proof sunflower seed feeder. When I was standing in line waiting to pay for my black oily seeds, a kind lady asked questions and I learned I have the wrong variety! Bought them anyway and told the lady I’ll put up a sign for the birds promising to do better next time!

    • revdarkwater says:

      That’s a relief (grin).

      I may need to put up a sign for a Carolina wren, who was observed this morning checking out one of our hanging baskets on the front porch. I’m afraid the warm days and nights have them thinking of nesting, but there’s “NO VACANCY” there. That spider plant is moving back into the garage when the weather remembers it’s winter!

Leave a Reply

