What I Shed Today

lightening up a little at a time

– NEC computer monitor box

on January 16, 2017

I’m casting about a bit tonight for something to claim as today’s shed, I admit. But I did let go of a box.

2017-01-16-19-55-39-e

I was looking in the old monitor box hoping to find my glass cutter so I could cut a pane of glass to use as a hopper feed panel in the old birdfeeder so it would work again and I could feel okay about giving it away. Does that make sense? That’s the kind of day I’ve had. The glasscutter wasn’t in my carpentry toolbox, nor the precision tools box, nor the really-odd tools box, nor the painting tools box. (We have several other toolboxes, but it simply wouldn’t be in them, unless the rules of the universe changed or something.) The monitor box was my last hope.

Ten years ago Nimue and I were about to change addresses when I found myself on crutches for three months. Friends and family rallied about us to pack, load, and unload, bless ‘em. But that narrowed our choices somewhat. Asked where to put anything random in my shop, I answered, “In that box. That old monitor box.”

A great feature of monitor boxes, back in the days when computer equipment felt more like an infrastructural investment than a consumable, was that they were sturdy. And voluminous. The drawback is that they can swallow a lot of your stuff, and it’s a lot harder to get it out than to put it in.

I have been unpacking that box, a little at a time, ever since. Tonight, I finished. I didn’t find the glass cutter, but lamp wiring materials have come out where they can be used, hardware has been sorted into the “nails” and “picture hanging” containers, and old flashlights moved to the going-to-the-thrift-store box. The monitor box will be left at our community’s drop-off recycling facility the next time we drive past it.

shedding style: recycle
destination: our community’s recycling dropoff

Comments welcome … do you find that some containers are much too big for what you’ve asked them to hold?

3 responses to “– NEC computer monitor box

  1. I tried a daily shed for a while last year, but got a bit obsessed with finding something every day… to the detriment of being efficient. I’ve decided that I’m better at having a biggish sort out occasionally than a little attempt each day…. well, that’s my excuse anyway

    • revdarkwater says:

      I’m drafting a post about that! It’s our experience too that we achieve more tangible results when we do it in batches. But the daily shed seems to help me keep a spiritual muscle exercised. So it’s both/and again … Kierkegaard would scold me for it, but theses just seem so lonely without their antitheses, and then they get up to mischief and suddenly there are little systheses underfoot, and I just want to hug them all and find them homes….

  2. […] – NEC computer monitor box Jan […]

Leave a Reply

