What I Shed Today

lightening up a little at a time

fringed cloth napkins

on July 16, 2014

We love the idea of cloth napkins, which are made for re-use, and feel nicer than “disposable” squares of thin paper. We haven’t, however, succeeding in finding napkins we really like.

Nimue and I were given a set as a wedding gift that we used for years, but they were beige, and it was a happy day when we finally admitted to one another that they put us off our food. Another set, also received when we wed, was made of a loose weave that sucked in food particles. I suspect they were meant to decorate an empty table; what use is that? Two more of our napkins have the power to suck cat hair out of the air and never give it up. We still use those, but not, I suspect, for much longer. (Pfthew! Excuse me, I seem to have had a hair in my mouth.)

And, finally, these have fringes:

Fringes! Eek!

Fringes! Eek!

So they’re going to leave our lives, because fringes want to swim in sauces and soups. Then they want to smear them on your clothes.

We’ll keep looking for attractive, practical cloth napkins, because they are a good idea. But fringed representatives need not apply.

shedding style: give away
destination: thrift store

Comments welcome … what ideals do you have that are obviously better, but prove stubbornly difficult to concretize?


7 responses to “fringed cloth napkins

  1. Julie Buhite says:

    “… what ideals do you have that are obviously better, but prove stubbornly difficult to concretize?” — in this moment: impeccable recycling; composting; living off the land; …and it goes on and on. I continually wonder to myself why the most simple path is the most difficult and I respond by wondering what it is I’m not letting go of. This post of yours made me laugh. They often do. :)

    • revdarkwater says:

      Thanks … and yes, I observe that paradox of difficulty and simplicity too. I think you have a good question to ask when in it.

      I’d like to use private automobiles a lot less. But oh! the changes that change requires … not only of me, but of societal systems that resist them. I know I have to start with my own responsibility, though. So, er, “what is it I’m not letting go of?” Good question!

  2. nrhatch says:

    We use cloth napkins for most meals and have them in forest green, navy blue, or powder blue.

    No fringe. No open weave.

    When my nieces are here, we give them different napkin colors and rings so everyone knows who’s napkin is whose.

Leave a comment